075: Why I Do What I Do

by howmanybeards

Many of you may know on a cursory level that I work for Aflac, but many of you may not know why. Aflac built itself up on the idea of Cancer Insurance – the idea that in light of the physical and emotional toll that this disease can take on friends and loved ones, a family should not have to be overly concerned with the financial concerns of a cancer diagnosis and it’s often lengthy treatment.

This is why I work for Aflac. After losing my father to cancer, and knowing all the different ways that my wifes family was affected by it when her mother went through treatment for breast cancer, this policy and all of the protection it can provide hold a very important place in my heart. I have seen how this plan can and does provide families with the financial freedom to focus on the physical and emotional support that a person needs during such a difficult period in their life.

I’ve never been very vocal about this policy with family and friends before. Never talked much about its ability to pay out tens of thousands of dollars during a period of treatment. But after reading this article the other day, it really moved me to reach out.

At face value the article is scary enough – that Cancer is set to eclipse Heart Disease as the No. 1 lethal disease in the US, a title which Heart Disease has held since the first time the CDC ever published its mortality report back in 1958. But, as always the devil is in the details. The article even comes right out and says that we are getting better and better reducing the mortality rate of cancer. What that really means is that cancer is slowly transitioning from terminal illness to chronic disease. And even more so we are learning first hand every day that cancer never truly goes away. That remission has replaced the word cured.

What this says to me is that there will be more and more treatments. More radiations, more chemo-therapies, more surgeries, more anti-nausea medicine, more experimental drug trials, more bone marrow transplants, on and on ad nauseum. Fortunately all of these things and more are covered by the Aflac Cancer policy so that we can have the luxury of being their to take care of those who matter most.

Cancer can be a difficult subject. Insurance can be a difficult subject. But it would really mean a lot to me to have the opportunity to speak with you directly about what I do and how I can help you protect yourself and your loved ones.

http://www.tampabay.com/news/perspective/why-cancer-will-keep-on-killing/2161432

