027: Randy’s Monday Morning Obsession #1 – Ingress

by howmanybeards

This is the first of a series of regular posts from my dear friend Randy. Check back every Monday for a fresh look at what has taken over Randy’s litter box of a brain that week. For more timely ramblings from him head straight to the source, @RMChase3.

Hey what’s up for those of you that don’t know my name is Randy. (Although I should say that’s not
conditional if you do know me it’s still Randy.) I’m here today because I need to get something off my
chest. I suffer from OCD. Well OCD minus the Compulsive Disorder so maybe just O. This is something
I’ve recently come to realize. In my past I find something I really like until I consume all of it thoroughly
and completely and move on to the next thing that I obsess over. Well it’s time to stop keeping these
things to myself and share them with you, the people. So How Many Beards presents to you: Randy’s
Monday Obsession.

ingress

This inaugural post will be Randy’s Monday Obsession: Ingress. Ingress is created by Niantic Labs part of
Google and can be currently found in the Google Play apps store. Ingress in a nut shell is an augmented
reality (AR) game where two factions fight for control of the world. After a brief tutorial you join one of
two factions, the “good” Resistance or the “bad” enlightenment (I chose the enlightenment) and start
battling. The objective is to collect exotic material (XM) which sort of plays as your currency which is
found all around you and you use that XM to attack and take control of portals in your area. Confusing?
Yes. But it’s the makes a lot more sense if you play it sort of deal. (Or um you could go here. Or here.)

What is special about this game is that it uses your GPS on you device and includes the plays of people
around you so you’re constantly playing worldwide. Normally I hate check-in based anything that
doesn’t have some sort of real world compensation (Facebook, twitter, 4square etc.) Mostly because
WHO ARE YOU WHY THE HELL DO YOU NEED TO KNOW WHERE THE HELL I AM!?!? Also because the
other “games” are a passive type of “game,“ you go to a place and you tell them game where you are,
you aren’t exclaiming to the world “HEY WORLD I HAPPEN TO BE RIGHT HERE AT THIS TIME THOUGHT
YOU WANTED TO KNOW KTHNX BYE!” No! instead if you want to engage in the conflict you have to go
where the action is. Keeping in that active role vein you can’t just go to where the action is, be near a
portal and say this is mine. You actually have to fight the portal and interact the map.

Finally Ingress is made by a Google Labs dev team so you can take solace in the fact that your “playing”
is helping the good people at Google make the world more awesome. Now unfortunately has two
hitches. 1.) Ingress is currently a closed Beta which means if you want to play find someone that is
playing and beg them for an invite. B.) The places that Ingress shows to be “in conflict” are really only
major metropolitan areas. But fret not if you do get invited you can suggest certain areas to Google.
Alright Space cadets that’s enough out of me.

Until next time go out and go obsess

-Randy.

