011: Friday Jams – Letters Home

by howmanybeards

Letters Home – Take Your Time 4/5

A long time ago, in a small southern university town I was lured to a bar to see a friend of mine perform with his new band. That band was Look Mexico. That show was awesome. And I went to see them play as often as I could. My friend in the band, Josh Mikel, was their drummer. I even watched him crack a cymbal mid-set at one of their shows.

letters home

 

He eventually left Look Mexico so that he could become graphic artistplaywright, and actor extraordinaire.  But, it seems he finally came back to music as the drummer for a great new little band called Letters Home. I’ve been streaming their EP Take Your Time online for a couple weeks now, and it has proven itself over and over. For anyone who is a fan of good old rock and roll, or math rock, or if you ever liked a little band called Piebald, then I cannot recommend this enough.

So take a little time this weekend to sit back with a window open, enjoy the last wisps of fall weather, and take down a beer or two while taking in this little release with big heart. And if you only have time for one song, I recommend track 5, Broken Radio.

